Takata Airbag Recall

On 28 February 2018, the Assistant Minister to the Federal Treasurer, the Hon Michael Sukkar, issued a compulsory recall notice for vehicles fitted with Takata airbags.

The Australian recall includes vehicles produced by FCAI member brands including Ford, GM Holden (including Opel and Saab), Mercedes-Benz, Tesla, Jaguar, Land Rover, Volkswagen, Audi and Skoda. This is in addition to existing voluntary recalls by BMW, Chevrolet, Chrysler, Dodge, Ferrari, GMC, Honda, Jeep, Lexus, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Subaru, Toyota, Volvo and Hino Trucks.

Information on the Takata airbag recall is available on the Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development’s website: Recall of vehicles fitted with Takata airbags.